Skip to main content

Jim Thorpe School Board will have new faces

Published May 22. 2019 04:47AM

Jim Thorpe School Board treasurer John P. Ciavarella Jr. lost his re-election bid Tuesday night.

Two of his fellow board members, Wilmer P. Redline Jr. and board president Pearl Downs-Sheckler, will face off against four newcomers in November’s general election.

All nine candidates in the race cross-filed.

Newcomer Cindy Lesisko Henning was the top vote getter on both the Democratic and Republican ballots, taking 17 and 16 percent of the vote respectively.

Downs-Sheckler, and newcomers Scott Pompa and Paul Montemuro also earned nominations for both parties.

Newcomer TJ Garritano received the final Republican nomination.

The other candidates on the ballot were Robert C. Schaninger and Richard Flacco.

Ciavarella served as board treasurer and chairman of the building and grounds committee.

He actually lost his primary bid in 2017, but was appointed to the board because another member won two seats and had to resign one.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


August 2019


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed