Skip to main content

Jim Thorpe presents academic awards

Published June 06. 2019 03:59PM

Jim Thorpe Area High School recently held its academic awards ceremony.

The following students received awards during the assembly.

American Legion Auxiliary Scholarship: Emma Gavornik, $500

Band Booster Awards: Saige Sterner and Angelica Uzar, $50 each

Business, Computer & Information Technology Award: Emma Gavornik, $50

Carbon Chamber & Economic Development: Natalia Richards and Kiya Jenkins, $200 each

Carbon County Bar Association Scholarships: Kyle Rich and Saige Sterner, $500 each

Carbon Lodge No. 242 Free and Accepted Masons of Jim Thorpe: Noah Rodgers, $300

Michael Carpenter Memorial Football Scholarship: Nathan Rosahac, $1,000

Richard Defeo Art Scholarship: Sarah Rosenberger, $200

Ron Foreman Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Rosenberger, $1,000

David Formica Memorial Scholarship: Melanie Sepulveda, $500

Fraternal Order of Police Schuylkill-Carbon Lodge 13 Award: Dominick Bierman, $100

The Glee Club Senior Awards: Sarah Rosenberger and Noel Gablick, $50 each

Helbing Fellowship Award: Natalia Richards, $175

Matthew Joseph Hnatin Memorial Scholarship: Emma Gavornik, $1,000

Barbara Kay Hoffman Memorial Award: Kiya Jenkins, $250

Lynn F. Hoffmeier Memorial Award: Emma Gavornik, $100

Dr. Elwood Huegel Memorial Award: Zachary Searfoss, $100

Jim Thorpe Area School Board History Award: Natalie Terpstra, $100

Jim Thorpe Area School Board Science Award: Danielle Shapiro, $100

Jim Thorpe Area Sports Hall of Fame Awards: Natalia Richards, Nathan Rosahac, Kelsey Carroll and Austin Williams, $500 each

Jim Thorpe Booster Club Scholar Athlete Awards: Brielle Long and Zachary Searfoss, $250 each

Jim Thorpe Lions Club Award: Emma Gavornik, $500

Jim Thorpe Market Scholarships: Emma Gavornik and Brielle Long, $500 each

Jim Thorpe Neighborhood Bank Mathematic Award: Danielle Shapiro, $300

Jim Thorpe Rotary Award: Kathleen Conway, $500 each

Randall L. Smith Community Service Award: Saige Sterner, $500

Randall L. Smith Rotary Award: Sarah Rosenberger, $500

Family of James A. Kattner Memorial Award: Jacob Holt, $100

Michael Wells Kmetz Memorial Scholarship Award: Zachary Searfoss, $500

Robert Kovac Sr. Scholarships: Zachary Searfoss, Nathan Rosahac, Jacob Schwartz and Natalia Richards, $500 each

Adam LaRizzio Memorial Awards: Noah Rodgers, $1,000

Robert Lauer Memorial Business Scholarship: Leanne VanEssendelft, $150

Edward J. Longazel Award: Natalie Terpstra, $500

Vera A. Longazel Award: Tamara Encarnacion, $500

Mauch Chunk Rod and Gun Club Keith Pry Memorial Award: Debbie Loyd, $2,500

MCTC Leadership Awards in Memory of Harold A. Queen: Brielle Long and William Munson, $500 each

Paul A. Mazzocchi Memorial Scholarships: Debbie Loyd and Kevin Jusino, $500 each

Thomas J. McCall Memorial Award: Andrew Rusbarsky, $500

Charles J. McHugh Jr. Military Scholarships: Jacob Holt, Chase Lynd and Nicholas Trovarello, amount TBD

Charles J. McHugh Jr. American Legion English Award: Debbie Loyd, $500

Hunter Meckes Memorial Soccer Scholarship: Brielle Long and Coyote Acevedo, $250 each

Lori Montefour Memorial Scholarship: Erik McLain-Walter, $500

Outstanding Senior Awards Sponsored by National Honor Society: Emma Gavornik and Natalia Richards, $200 each

William Oxley Scholarships: Kathleen Conway and Emma Gavornik, $1,500 each

Olympian Spirit Awards Sponsored by Dr. Boyer: Brooke McElmoyle and Jacob Schwartz, $100 each

Frank Pasden Memorial Scholarship of the Luzerne Foundation: Brielle Long, $1,000

Keith Pry Memorial Education Scholarship: Natalie Terpstra: $300

Mrs. Josephine V. Remmel Educational Fund Scholarships: Natalie Terpstra and Kevin Jusino, $500 each

Maria Donata Rothermel Peer Helpers Scholarship Award: Natalia Richards, $100

Sangiuliano Former Superintendent Awards: Natalie Terpstra and Dominick Bierman, $1,200 each

Dr. Laura B. Sheard Memorial Science Scholarship: Nathan Rosahac, $1,000

Taylor Shepherdson and Jasmine Fonseca Memorial Scholarship: Jillian Saltz, $2,000

St. Luke’s Gnaden Huetten-Palmerton Campuses Scholarship: Brooke McElmoyle and Kyle Greenfield, $500 each

Emily Sully Baker East Mauch Chunk High School Class of 1936 Scholarship: Brielle Long, $2,000

Superintendent’s Awards: Alexander Strauss and Shannon Hogarty, $100 each

Anastasia J. Susko Scholarship: Natalia Richards, $1,500

Dr. George P. Thomas Memorial Scholarship: Jacob Schwartz and Emma Gavornik, $500 each

Bo Tkach Scholarship: Nathan Rosahac, $1,500

Typical American Girl Award: Emma Gavornik, $100

SAR Bronze Good Citizenship Award: Noah Rodgers, medal and certificate

The George B. and Virginia Weiksner Awards: Debbie Loyd and Kevin Jusino, $1,000 each

Joseph Weiss Memorial Award: Danielle Shapiro, $100

Connor Mertz Law Enforcement Scholarship: Kahel Matais and Roberto Santiago, $500 each

Matthew David Elmore Basketball Athletic Scholarship: Zachary Searfoss, $500

Chorale Directors Award: Timothy Donohoe and Macayla Almedia, $50 each

Dolores Anello Memorial Award: Erik McLain-Walter, Kyle Rich, Ginny George and Ethan Mordaunt, $1,000 each

Dwight Eisenhower Award Outstanding Leader of Character: Cobe Frycklund, certificate

Good Citizenship Awards: Dominick Bierman and Melanie Sepulveda, certificates

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Art: Tasya Brown, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Business Education: Andrew Rusbarsky, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Computers: Natalie Terpstra, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in English: Natalia Richards, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in German: Morgan Mauser, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Math: Kathleen Conway, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Music: Leanne VanEssendelft, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Physical Education: Noah Rodgers, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Science: Danielle Shapiro, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Social Studies: Natalie Terpstra, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Spanish: Danielle Shapiro, plate

JTASD Registry of Excellence Award in Tech Ed: Coyote Acevedo, plate

Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Awards: Samuel Hydro and Cassandra Bitsko, certificates

Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award: Brielle Long, certificate

Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence: Alexander Strauss, certificate

Marion Searfoss Kuehner Award: Erik McLain-Walter, Kyle Rich, Ginny George and Ethan Mordaunt, $500 each

Schuylkill County Interscholastic Athletic Association Awards: Nathan Rosahac and Natalia Richards, $100 each

Tyler Kowatch Memorial Scholarship: Jarrin Geisinger and Debbie Loyd, $500 each

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


December 2019


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed